Tags

, , , , , ,

elephant savanah 1While it seems strange to be doing this after years of doing some form of teaching, I am officially moving on to student teaching. I left my reading interventionist position at the elementary school I adore this week. It was really tough to leave the sweet kiddos and my coworkers that I am blessed to count among my friends. I had a tremendous foundation there thanks to some remarkable mentors who supported me through grad school.

But now, I am finally finished with my coursework (insert happy dance here) and am ready to student teach. It seems odd to me and others I worked with that I am even required to do this given my work experience, but there you are. The state cares not. I will say that I am more than a little pleased with my assignment. The teacher is fun and excited to have me in her classroom and the principal of this new school is a former assistant principal from the school I just left.

I am looking forward to this adventure and know that each experience makes me a better teacher. There is a bit of sadness, yes, as I leave a wonderful school, but much excitement too. And the stew of emotions is flavored lastly by a pinch of apprehension. With the stakes raised more than ever in regards to teacher evaluations and standardized testing, I am walking into a fourth grade classroom hoping I have what it takes to help the students rock that test!

If nothing else, the experience will give me much to reflect on and write about!

“The journey is part of the experience – an expression of the seriousness of one’s intent. One doesn’t take the A train to Mecca.” – Anthony Bourdain

