Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

hydrangeas sepiaAnd it couldn’t be better! I have truly been blessed by my placement. I knew it would be nice to have a principal I was familiar with, but it has gone beyond that. The teacher I am working with is amazing. She is generous with her time, talent, and knowledge. She has a true heart for teaching and it shows in all she does. Her kids are learning so much and experiencing lots of technology and innovations. I am so grateful to have her to learn from!

On the flip side of the coin, she is grateful to have me to learn from as well. I have special ed experience she doesn’t have and so we have truly experienced a sharing of ideas to help make the experience great for both of us and especially the students.

She has made me feel welcome and important as well as supported and encouraged. I am SO blessed! I have been excited about this new part of my journey and am thrilled with the way it has turned out. We laugh and learn all day and that makes teaching with her a joy. That joy translates to the students who are excited about learning through hands on tasks and technology. I can’t wait to take what I learn from these kids and their talented teacher with the big heart and pass it on to my own students!

And, surprisingly, I am enjoying teaching math. (Math makes me cry. Seriously.) I am still a bit intimidated (probably because I have never been able to remember my multiplication facts and I am even slower than many of the kids with them). However, the technology and the activities my cooperating teacher uses has made it fun to teach, even for a true mathphobe.

Tomorrow, I am on my own teaching since my CT is out at training all day. Wish me luck!

 

