Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Sketchnoting a new way to review grammar skills

Sketchnoting a new way to review grammar skills

Honestly, I am not much of an artist.  Seriously.  I have always envied folks who could draw amazing things.  I can Zentangle, and do some paper crafting and jewelry making, but that’s about it.  Creative – yes.  Artistic – hardly.

The other day, my friend and artist Stacie James shared a post about Sketchnoting and I was enthralled.  As a teacher, I am sentenced to, I mean, have the opportunity to attend professional development seminars that can be a bit of a drag, I mean, an enlightening experience.  I immediately saw sketchnoting as a way to organize ideas and entertain myself at the same time.  Then, I thought, “Oooh, faculty meetings could be more fun this way, too.”

My mind also wandered to my students and how many times I had seen them “enhancing” their notes with doodles and lettering and realized that I could totally use this to my advantage!  My language arts class is a writer’s workshop structure with mini lessons for grammar skills.  I use lots of short videos over a span of a week to develop and reinforce the particular skill and I wanted to find a way to put all of this information from these many sources into one place for students to refer back to.  I could sit down at my word processor and create a review guide, or I could……

SKETCHNOTE it!  (Notice, I am not a stellar sketcher, or letterer for that matter.  But this is still way more fun to use as a review than a review page. )

adjective and adverb phrases

misplaced and dangling modifiers

prepositionsTo see how the pros do it and to get some inspiration, be sure to check out The Sketchnote Army site and Mike Rohde, or take a look at some of the beautiful work done by Allison Kimball in her sketchbook.  Or just google it.  Remember – it’s about the  ideas, not art.

Have fun!

